Skip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.
McNabb among best in Eagles playoff history

McNabb among best in Eagles playoff history

  • 0

The Eagles have a deep and rich playoff history.

Sunday’s NFC championship game against Minnesota at Lincoln Financial Field marks the sixth time they’ve been in the conference final since the 2001 season.

The Eagles have been in the postseason 26 times, winning three NFL championships and reaching two Super Bowls.

So far.

Here are the players who have been responsible for that success.


Quarterback — Donovan McNabb: Played in 16 playoff games for the Eagles and holds franchise records for completions (341), attempts (577), passing yards (3,752) and touchdown passes (24). (Honorable mention: Randall Cunningham, Ron Jaworski, Norm Van Brocklin).

Running backs — Steve Van Buren and Wilbert Montomgery: Van Buren led the Eagles to back-to-back titles in 1948-49. His 196 yards in the 1949 championship game is still a franchise record. Montgomery rushed for 518 yards and a team-record six touchdowns in seven playoff games. (Honorable mention: Brian Westbrook).

Wide receivers — Tommy McDonald and Harold Carmichael: McDonald caught three passes for 90 yards and a touchdown in the 1960 championship game. Carmichael holds franchise records for receiving yards (465) and receiving TDs (six) in seven playoff games. (Honorable mention: Jeremy Maclin, Terrell Owens, Pete Pihos).

Tight end — Chad Lewis: Holds franchise records for receptions (38) and leads tight ends in receiving yards (409) and is tied with Brent Celek in receiving TDs (three) in 11 playoff games. Honorable mention: Celek, Keith Jackson, Pete Retzlaff).

Tackles — Jerry Sizemore and Tra Thomas: Sizemore anchored an offensive line that helped the Eagles reach the playoffs four straight seasons (1978-81) and reach the Super Bowl in 1980. Thomas was a cornerstone for the offensive line that made the postseason seven times between 2000 and 2008, including the 2004 Super Bowl. (Honorable mention: Jason Peters, Jon Runyan, Stan Walters, Al Wistert).

Guards — Jermane Mayberry and Todd Herremans: Mayberry was a stalwart at guard for the team that reached four straight NFC championship games (2001-04), including the 2004 Super Bowl. Herremans was one of McNabb’s top blockers in the playoffs for five seasons. (Honorable mention: Artis Hicks, Guy McIntyre, Woody Peoples).

Center — Alex Wojciechowicz: Served as the anchor of the Eagles’ offensive line during their back-to-back NFL titles in 1948-49. (Honorable mention: Chuck Bednarik, Jamaal Jackson, Jason Kelce).


Ends — Reggie White and Hugh Douglas: White is tied for the franchise record with four career sacks in the playoffs in just five games. Douglas also had four while playing in 10 playoff games, the most of any Eagles defensive end. (Honorable mention: Trent Cole, Jevon Kearse, Clyde Simmons).

Tackles — Jerome Brown and Charlie Johnson: Brown was a star on the Eagles’ defensive line that helped the team reach the playoffs four straight years from 1988-91. Johnson was a dominant nose tackle on the 1980 Super Bowl team. (Honorable mention: Andy Harmon, Mike Patterson, Corey Simon).

Middle linebacker — Chuck Bednarik: One of the NFL’s last two-way players, Bednarik was a standout at center and linebacker. Played on both the 1949 and 1960 NFL championship teams. (Honorable mention: Bill Bergey, Byron Evans, Jeremiah Trotter).

Outside linebackers — Maxie Baughan and Seth Joyner: Baughan was one of the NFL’s top linebackers while leading 1960 championship team’s defense. Joyner registered three interceptions in five total playoffs games from 1988-92. (Honorable mention: John Bunting, Frank Lemaster, William Thomas).

Cornerbacks — Tom Brookshier and Herman Edwards: Brookshier was an All-Pro cornerback for the 1960 NFL championship team. Edwards holds the franchise record with five interceptions and played for the 1980 championship team. (Honorable mention: Eric Allen, Sheldon Brown, Lito Sheppard, Roynell Young).

Safeties — Brian Dawkins and Wes Hopkins: Dawkins was the soul of the Eagles defense and registered four interceptions while appearing in 18 total playoff games between 1996 and 2008. Hopkins was a hard-hitting and versatile safety for the Eagles’ playoff teams in 1988-90. (Honorable mention: Michael Lewis, Quintin Mikell, Randy Logan, Andre Waters).


Place-kicker — David Akers: Appeared in a franchise-record 19 playoff games, including the 2004 Super Bowl. Also holds team playoff records for points (134), field goals (31). (Honorable mention: Gary Anderson, Tony Franklin, Roger Ruzek).

Punter — Max Runager: Served as the Eagles’ punter in six playoff games from 1979-81, including the 1980 Super Bowl. (Honorable mention: Dirk Johnson, Sean Landeta, Norm Van Brocklin).

Long snapper — Mike Bartrum: Snapped for field goals, punts and extra points during 12 playoff games for the Eagles, including the 2004 Super Bowl. (Honorable mention: Jon Dorenbos).

Returners — Bosh Pritchard (punts) and Brian Mitchell (kickoffs): Pritchard has the only return for a touchdown in franchise playoff history. He scored on a 79-yard punt return in the 1947 NFL championship game. Mitchell had a 70-yarder in the 2002 NFC championship game and a franchise-record 22 total returns. (Honorable mention: DeSean Jackson, John Sciarra, Brian Westbrook).


Greasy Neale — Guided the Eagles to three straight appearances in the NFL championship game and won back-to-back titles in 1948-49. (Honorable mention: Andy Reid, Buck Shaw, Dick Vermeil).

Contact: 609-272-7201

Twitter @PressACWeinberg

Can't get enough High School sports? Get the latest scores, game highlights and analysis delivered to your inbox each week

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

The best local coverage, unlimited

Sign up for a digital subscription to The Press of Atlantic City now and take advantage of a great offer.


Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

PLEASE BE ADVISED: Soon we will no longer integrate with Facebook for story comments. The commenting option is not going away, however, readers will need to register for a FREE site account to continue sharing their thoughts and feedback on stories. If you already have an account (i.e. current subscribers, posting in obituary guestbooks, for submitting community events), you may use that login, otherwise, you will be prompted to create a new account.

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


Breaking News