Skip to main content
You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.
9 Press-area football players win Maxwell awards
top story

9 Press-area football players win Maxwell awards


The Maxwell Football Club announced its 2020 New Jersey Mini Max High School Award winners Thursday.

Ninety-three players were selected throughout the state and were nominated by their coaches based on their performance, academics and community service.

Press-area players Jordan Marcucci (Absegami), Ja’Heem Frederick (Atlantic City), Jaiden Abrams (Hammonton), Patrick Smith (Holy Spirit), Michael Palmer (Millville), Jake Inserra (Ocean City), Connor Harris (Pinelands Regional), Chase Lomax (St. Joseph Academy) and Greg Mitchell (Wildwood) made the list.

The Maxwell Football Club, one of the most prestigious football clubs in the country, will select one player from the group as the winner of the New Jersey Player of the Year, which will be announced Jan. 25. The organization also announced its Pennsylvania and Delaware Mini Max Award winners Thursday.

Support Local Journalism

Your subscription makes our reporting possible.

The New Jersey, Pennsylvania and Delaware Player of the Year winners will be the candidates for the 35th annual Jim Henry Award, which honors the most outstanding player in the tri-state area. The Jim Henry Award winner will be announced Feb. 1.

Brent Caprio, a 2009 Mainland Regional graduate, won the Jim Henry Award in 2008. Caprio went on to play at NCAA Division I William & Mary University in Williamsburg, Virginia.

“This year’s group of Mini Max winners were challenged by more than just their on-field opponents,” Maxwell Football Club President Mark Dianno said in a release. “They had to contend with circumstances of the pandemic impacting their families, communities, schools, teachers, academics, practices, coaches and games; yet they consistently rose to meet those challenges and performed extraordinary feats on the fields, in their classrooms and in their respective communities.

“On behalf of the entire Board of Directors and all the members of the Maxwell Football Club, we congratulate and salute this exceptional group of student-athletes on being 2020 Mini Max Award winners and wish them much success in their future endeavors.”

Smith was The Press Player of the Year this season. Abrams, Frederick, Lomax, Marcucci and Inserra were first-team All-Stars. Mitchell was named to the second team, and Palmer was an honorable mention.

Contact: 609-272-7210

Twitter @ACPressMulranen

Can't get enough High School sports? Get the latest scores, game highlights and analysis delivered to your inbox each week

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Get in the game with our Prep Sports Newsletter

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

The best local coverage, unlimited

Sign up for a digital subscription to The Press of Atlantic City now and take advantage of a great offer.


Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

PLEASE BE ADVISED: Soon we will no longer integrate with Facebook for story comments. The commenting option is not going away, however, readers will need to register for a FREE site account to continue sharing their thoughts and feedback on stories. If you already have an account (i.e. current subscribers, posting in obituary guestbooks, for submitting community events), you may use that login, otherwise, you will be prompted to create a new account.

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


Breaking News