PLEASANTVILLE — The city’s Board of Education President Carla Thomas received the lowest number of votes in the Nov. 7 general election.

Thomas finished with 499 votes and fifth in a five-way race for three, 3-year seats on the school board.

Former Pleasantville Public School Board of Education member Sharnell S. Morgan was the top vote getter and will return to the board. She left in December 2016.

She captured 866 votes, or 27.08 percent. Incumbent Bernice Couch followed with 760 votes (23.76 percent), and incumbent Anny Melo finished third (592 votes, 18.51 percent) and will return to the board.

Richard E.L. Norris, who received 476 votes, and Thomas, were not elected.

Hassan Calloway received 696 votes in his successful uncontested election bid to finish the final two years of his term.

James Buford received 821 votes for the unexpired year in his term.

In the race for Pleasantville City Council, Democrat 1st ward incumbent Ricky Cistrunk (896 votes) and Democrat 2nd ward incumbent Augustus “Gus” Harmon (938 votes) ran unopposed to retain their seats.

Contact: 609-601-5193

Twitter @gallowaycurrent

Load comments